Home News Awards and Grants Solicitations

Awards and Grants Solicitations PDF-NOTE: Internet Explorer Users, right click the PDF Icon and choose [save target as] if you are experiencing problems with clicking. Print

Ray L. Hart Service Award Solicitation

The AAR Board of Directors and Executive Committee invites nominations for the Ray L. Hart Service Award.

The Ray L. Hart Service Award, established by the Board of Directors in 1992, is given to persons whose dedication and service have made significant contributions to the AAR's mission of fostering excellence in the field of religion. More information about this award can be found here.

Prior awardees are as follows:

  • Judith Berling (2005)
  • Harry Buck and Robert V. Smith, given as "Founders Award" (2002)
  • Peter Paris (2001)
  • Robert Detweiler (1997)
  • Austin Creel (1995)
  • Raymond Williams (1994)
  • Ray L. Hart (1993)

The Executive Committee selects the awardee. Nominations may be sent to them through the executive office. To submit a name for consideration, mail the name of the nominee, his or her affiliation, and any supporting information to:

Hart Service Award
American Academy of Religion
825 Houston Mill Road
Suite 300
Atlanta, GA 30329



Marty Award Solicitation

The Public Understanding of Religion Committee enthusiastically invites nominations and self-nominations for the Martin E. Marty Award.

The Martin E. Marty Award, established in 1996, recognizes extraordinary contributions to the public understanding of religion. The award goes to those whose work has a relevance and eloquence that speaks not just to scholars but more broadly to the public as well. The award is intended to bring greater recognition to scholars whose relevance and eloquence speaks not just to scholars, but more broadly to the public as well. Nominees need not be AAR members.

For nomination details, please click here or mail the name of the nominee, his or her affiliation, and any supporting information to:

Marty Award
American Academy of Religion
825 Houston Mill Road
Suite 300
Atlanta, GA 30329

The nomination deadline for the 2013 award is January 25, 2013.


Excellence in Teaching Award Solicitation

The Teaching and Learning Committee seeks nominations for the AAR Award for Excellence in Teaching. Nominations of winners of campus awards, or any other awards, are encouraged. Procedures for the nomination process are outlined on the AAR website. The deadline for the 2012 award has already passed. The nomination deadline for 2013 is October 1, 2013.


AAR Invites Nominations for the Religion and the Arts Award

The award in Religion and the Arts is presented annually to an artist, performer, critic, curator, or scholar who has made a recent significant contribution to the understanding of the relations among the arts and religions, both for the Academy and for a broader public.

Nominations are accepted from AAR members, though nominees need not be AAR members. Nominations must include a supporting letter (no more than 1,000 words), and any relevant supporting materials (images, DVDs, books, catalogs, etc.). Please, no self-nominations. To be considered for the 2013 award, nominations must be made by February 1, 2013.

Send nominations to Brent Plate, Department of Religious Studies, 198 College Hill Road, Clinton, NY 13323, USA. Electronic submissions can be sent to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


Awards for Excellence in the Study of Religion

In order to give recognition to new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion, the American Academy of Religion offers Awards for Excellence. The Awards honor works of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance, books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood, and interpreted. Awards for Excellence are given in four categories:

  • Analytical-Descriptive
  • Constructive-Reflective
  • Historical
  • Textual

For more information about our Awards, click here. The deadline for submissions is February 10, 2013.


Best 1st Book in the History of Religions

The AAR History of Religions Jury invites nominations for Best First Book in the History of Religions Award. Eligible books for this award must meet the following criteria:

  • The nomination must be the first book published by the nominee.
  • It must be in the field of "History of Religions" (in the broad sense that it raises historical and/or comparative methodological questions in the field of religion).
  • It must have been published within the calendar year of 2012.
  • The nominated book must be written by a single author.

The deadline to submit a book along with a nomination is February 10, 2013. For more information, click here.


Individual and Collaborative Research Grants

Did you know that you could receive up to $5,000 in research assistance from the AAR? Since 1992, the Academy has awarded over $590,000 to members for individual and collaborative research projects. The application deadline is August 1st of each year. For application information and eligibility requirements, see www.aarweb.org/programs/grants.


International Dissertation Research Grants

Applications for the 2013–2014 International Dissertation Research Grants cycle will be accepted until December 1, 2013. These annual grants, designed to support AAR student members whose dissertation research requires them to travel outside of the country in which their school or university is located, are intended to help candidates complete their doctoral degrees by offsetting costs of travel, lodging, and other dissertation research-related expenses. For information and to apply, please click here.


Regional Development Grants

Have you considered applying for a 2012–2013 Regional Development Grant? Regional Development Grants provide funds for special projects within the regions that promise to benefit the scholarly and professional life of AAR members and do the work of the AAR in the regions. Workshops, special programs, training events, and other innovative regional projects may be funded through this source. Where possible, projects are designed so that they may be duplicated or transported to other regions.

Applications should include a narrative description of the project detailing how the project promises to benefit the scholarly and professional life of AAR members and the work of the region. Please include comments on how these projects or activities may be adapted to other regional groups. The application should state the time period covered by the project and provide a detailed budget (office expenses, travel expenses, honoraria, stipend, and other expenses). Institutional overhead costs should not be included in this budget. No grant will exceed $4,000.

Successful grants from prior years can be found here.


September 1, 2013 – Grant proposals due to Regional Directors
September 15, 2013 – Regional Directors forward grants to Regions Committee
October 15, 2013 – Regional grant awards announced


This website contains archived issues of Religious Studies News published online from March 2010 to May 2013, and PDF versions of print editions published from Winter 2001 to October 2009.

This site also contains archived issues of Spotlight on Teaching (May 1999 to May 2013) and Spotlight on Theological Education (March 2007 to March 2013).

For current issues of RSN, beginning with the October 2013 issue, please see here.